Keep up with Armagh i

Co Armagh legend Rory Best named for 2017 British and Irish Lions squad

Lions will take on mighty All Blacks in three-match Test series

Co Armagh rugby ace Rory Best has been named as part of the team for the British and Irish Lions Tour.

The Poyntzpass man is one of 11 Ireland players in Warren Gatland’s 41-man squad.

The announcement was made live at noon today.

The team will be made up of 16 Englishmen, 12 Welshmen, 11 Irishmen and two Scots. Sixteen of the squad featured four years ago in Australia, while Alun Wyn Jones and Leigh Halfpenny also made the cut in 2009.

The team will be captained by Sam Warburton.

The full line-up is:

Forwards: Rory Best, Dan Cole, Taulupe Faletau, Tadhg Furlong, Jamie George, Iain Henderson, Maro Itoje, Alun Wyn Jones, George Kruis, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler, Jack McGrath, Ross Moriarty, Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony, Ken Owens, Kyle Sinckler, CJ Stander, Justin Tipuric, Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola, Sam Warburton.

Backs: Dan Biggar, Elliot Daly, Jonathan Davies, Owen Farrell, Leigh Halfpenny, Robbie Henshaw, Stuart Hogg, Jonathan Joseph, Conor Murray, George North, Jack Nowell, Jared Payne, Jonathan Sexton, Tommy Seymour, Ben Te’o, Anthony Watson, Rhys Webb, Liam Williams, Ben Youngs.

The tour gets underway in New Zealand on June 3.


Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Rugby