Keep up with Armagh i

People of the Year Award categories

Good Neighbour Award (proudly sponsored by Killeen Hardware)

(a) briefly describe how this nominee dedicates their time to provide help and support to their neighbour

(b) outline how they are a positive role model to others

Inspirational Young Talent Award (proudly sponsored by Morgan McLernon)


(a) briefly describe the nominee’s ‘talent’

(b) how do they stand out from their peers

(c) summarise their strengths and special qualities

(d) show how they have made a valuable and recognisable contribution to the activity they are associated with

Sports Person of the Year (proudly sponsored by McShane Packaging)

(a) describe how they have made a positive impression in the world of sport & how their actions have captured the public’s imagination

(b) outline their achievements to date

(c) illustrate the strengths & qualities they bring to their sport

Carer of the Year (proudly sponsored by Sealmax)

This category is open to any person in a paid or non-paid role.
(a) show the nominee’s commitment and perseverance in helping provide much needed care

(b) what positive effect have they made to the lives of those in their care

(c) describe what makes their care special and how their dedication makes them stand out

Community Impact Award (proudly sponsored by Aonach Mhacha)

Recognises individuals making a significant difference to community life. For example, a particular project or cause that has changed the community for the better by improving relations and promoting a shared society.

(a) outline the project.

(b) demonstrate how without this project the community would be worse off.

(c) demonstrate a commitment towards improving community relations and a more united and shared society.

Agri Champion (proudly sponsored by Redrock Machinery)

This category recognises individuals who have been selfless in their efforts to strengthen Northern Irish farming in the last 12 months. This could be someone who has campaigned for justice for farmers, promoted the value of farming to the public or developed business models that have a benefit to farmers rather than simply to his or her own farm. This may also be someone within the sector who has selflessly worked in promoting an event to raise funding for the farming sector or a charitable organisation.

Inspirational Educator of the Year (proudly sponsored by Sally McNally’s At The Corner)

(a) describe how this person is truly exceptional in their teaching and how their leadership or mentoring has inspired & captured the imagination of their students(of any discipline)

(b) how do they assist in developing the skills and enthusiasm students need to make a positive difference in the world

(c) include evidence of success and achievement in their field of expertise

Tourism & Hospitality Champion of the Year (proudly sponsored by JD Hunter Supermarket)

This award is to recognise someone who, through their activities, has demonstrated outstanding achievement in championing the cause of tourism and hospitality in the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council area and South Armagh and Newry City, through innovation, promotion and campaigning. Shortlisting will be carried out on the following criteria

(a) how innovative their activities are,

(b) how original their actions are,

(c) how great an impact their actions have,

(d) how inspirational their drive is

(e) how their actions have brought the area’s tourism to the attention of a non-local audience in a positive way, perhaps in an international dimension.

Overcoming Adversity Award (proudly sponsored by Traynors)

You are asked to nominate a person who fulfils all of the criteria below

(a) a member of the public, any age, who has shown courage in the face of adversity such as dealing with an unexpected difficult or unpleasant situation or finding themselves in unprecedented challenging circumstances

(b) describe how they showed true grit and strength of character

(c) how has this person been the embodiment of ‘the good Samaritan’ or shown dedication and a true zest of life despite themselves suffering personal trauma

Emergency Services Hero of the Year (proudly sponsored by The Mortgage Shop, Portadown & Banbridge)

Nominees for this award will be frontline service members of staff who have done something to really improve the lives of the service users they work with. Examples include: fire, ambulance, police, coastguard, health professionals etc; ie anyone who works directly with members of the public to deliver an emergency service. This may also be an individual within the sector who has demonstrated outstanding courage in carrying out their daily duties.

(a) demonstrate how they work with respect, integrity and initiative

(b) show how they maintain professionalism in the service they work in

(c) illustrate how they are proud to serve the people of Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council Area and South Armagh and Newry City

(d) describe their integrity and selfless dedication to duty

Special Recognition – Lifetime Achievement Award (proudly sponsored by Sean Cavanagh & Co.)

This award recognises an individual who has made an exceptional contribution within the local community over the years

(a) give an outline of the recipient’s career

(b) show how they have stood out from their peers

(c) illustrate their achievements to date and how they were outstanding in their field

You can nominate up until December 10 using this simple link here. Please note that only the information you submit can be considered when shortlisting, vague nominations may not be shortlisted. To give your nomination the best chance, please include as much detail as possible about their work. The shortlisting panel will not be able to consider information already in the public domain or prior knowledge of the individual.

Finalists will be announced on January 10 and public voting for those finalists opens on January 14 and closes on February 11.

The winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony in Armagh Observatory and Planetarium on March 10.

Good luck to everyone!!

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in People of the Year