Keep up with Armagh i

SDLP’s Laura Devlin chosen to take over as chair at Newry, Mourne and Down Council

Laura Devlin will be the new Chair of Newry, Mourne and Down District Council.

The SDLP representative will replace Sinn Fein’s Charlie Casey in the role.

The AGM and the election of a new chairperson will take place on June 2.

The council has agreed to proceed on this date, despite authority earlier being granted to local councils to hold annual general meetings any time up to September, which represents an extension for an office which is traditionally filled at the end of May or start of June.

SDLP Leader Colum Eastwood MP has welcomed the selection of Councillor Laura Devlin as the next Chair of Newry, Mourne and Down Council. Mr Eastwood.

He said she will be “a first citizen for everyone in the district and will bring warmth, generosity and compassion to the role during a difficult time”.

Mr Eastwood said: “I am delighted that Laura Devlin has been selected as the next Chair of Newry, Mourne and Down Council.

“I’ve known Laura for a long time and I have absolutely no doubt that she will be an outstanding first citizen for everyone in the district.

“This is an incredibly difficult time for all of our communities, we are all experiencing loss, fear and frustration as the Covid-19 crisis continues.

“I know that Laura’s warmth, generosity and compassion will shine through and she’ll help bring people together again.

“This is a critical time for civic leadership across the North and across these islands.

“I’m looking forward to working with Laura and the incoming team of SDLP Council Chairs and Mayors to support people and communities as we get through the crisis together.”

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Newry